Back up and restore your data

Create a backup

The only way to keep your data safe is through a backup made from iDoceo.

To back up all your data:
Main Menu > Settings > Backup & Restore > Manual Backup > Assign a password > Select where you want to store the backup file > Backup.

Manual backups must be started by you each time. Make a backup regularly, or whenever you want to save your current data.
 
There is no other way to safeguard your data in iDoceo.
Manual Backup settings

Choose where to store backups

You can store your backups in the following locations:
1
Store them in the cloud (Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive for Business, iCloud, WebDAV).
2
On a local server (WebDAV) at home or at school.
3
Locally offline using To other locations: for example, on a USB drive, your Mac, iPad or iPhone, or an external hard drive.
4
Any other place not listed here: with the option To other locations you can also store backups in cloud services not listed here.
Choose where to store a backup

Backup password

The last option in the image above is "Password for Backup Archives", tap it to enter the password you want to use with your backups.

You must enter a password before making any backup if you have not done it before, because iDoceo uses this password to restore that backup.

You can change the password, but it will only affect backups made from that point onwards, older backups will require the old password.

If you are restoring a backup and you are still using the same password that you had when you made that backup, it will not ask for a password. However, if you have changed it or you are restoring the backup on a new device, you will need to enter the backup’s password, so it is important to keep the password safe, because you cannot view or change the password for an existing backup.

Use the Backup button

You can use the backup button, located in the left vertical menu for Mac and iPad or in the main menu on iPhone, to create a Full Backup, Quick backup or a backup to other  locations.

Configure the Backup button

Set the default backup system
First, configure the button in Menu > Settings > Backup & Restore > Manual Backup.

Here you will select the default backup system (where backups are stored by default) and assign a password for them, as described above.

To select a default location, tap it and check the option "Default Backup System".
You can set any of the cloud options or WebDAV as your default backup system. You cannot set "To other locations" as the default backup system. Choose a destination each time you use this option.

Backup options

Full Backup, Quick Backup and To other locations options
1
Full Backup: Like a Manual Backup, this saves everything currently in iDoceo.
2
Quick Backup: This creates a smaller backup containing all your data (classes, students, your gradebook data, annotations, grade types, etc.) but will not include any resources (images, videos, audio, files, URLs).
3
To other locations: As it is not possible to assign "To other locations" as default backup storage, this option lets you make a full backup to an offline location using the backup button.
You can see which option is selected as the default backup system at the bottom of the options.

How long does it take to complete a backup?

This depends on the amount of data you currently have and your internet speed. However, there's no need to wait for the backup to end, you can continue working on iDoceo as soon as you start it.

The backup is performed in the background, and when it finishes, you will see the 'Backup completed' message on screen. The backup is complete only when this message appears.

If doing a backup "to other locations", it only depends on the amount of data, and because of that it is generally completed much faster.
Backup completed confirmation

Using ownCloud?

ownCloud supports WebDAV and can be used as a backup destination in iDoceo. See the ownCloud WebDAV setup guide.

Automatic backups

The automatic backup option is only available when you are not using synchronisation between iDoceo devices. If you use synchronisation and want to keep it enabled, you will have to make Manual Backups or Full Backups. Do not deactivate synchronization to do automatic backups, unless you no longer want to use synchronisation.

Once configured, the automatic backup is scheduled once every 24 hours, and it creates incremental backups, meaning you will need all of them (since you started doing automatic backups) to be able to restore your data.

You can configure them in Menu > Settings > Backup & Restore > Automatic Backup > select where you want to store the backups > Backup.
You can only store automatic backups on the cloud options or WebDAV. Therefore, you must make sure your device has internet access when your next incremental backup is due.

Restore a backup

Backups can only be restored from the iDoceo app, because they are encrypted. There is no other way to retrieve their information, except from iDoceo's backup restore function.

In the event of having to restore your information, you must tap on Main menu > Settings > Backup and Restore > Restore backup and now tap on your selected backup method (where you have the backup file).

You'll be presented with a list of all the available backups you have in that location. Select the backup with the date you want to restore and tap on it.
Choose a backup to restore

Wait for the backup to download. When asked to confirm, select Restore to continue.

iDoceo will then ask to restart so the changes can take effect. Follow the prompt: select OK and let iDoceo shut down on its own.

Open iDoceo again to access your restored data.
Restart confirmation after restoring a backup
Restoring a backup will ERASE your current data stored in iDoceo, since this data will be replaced with that of the backup. This operation cannot be undone.

You can restore a backup even after deleting and reinstalling iDoceo on your iPad or Mac, provided you keep the backup file safe.

iDoceo is in no way related to Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive for Business or Box. All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
To restore an Automatic Backup, the complete list of incremental backups must be available in order to restore all your data, so all the files must be in the same location. If you have them in different locations you should transfer them manually to a single location.