How to Use Numcol function

More
6 years 2 months ago #7351 by Freen
How to Use Numcol function was created by Freen
I am trying to understand the Numcol (count columns) function. I thought I could provide a range of columns and it would count how many columns there were included but it does not seem to work that way. Also, is it possible to count the number of columns in a category so if you add more columns to the category the count changes accordingly automatically?

I'm new to all of this so any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 2 months ago #7352 by bert
Replied by bert on topic How to Use Numcol function
Hello Freen,
NUMCOL counts the number of non empty cells in a list of columns but it usually is not required.

Let me know the kind of calculation you're trying to do. In a category, any calculation except the formula will automatically take into account the new columns you add in it.

More
6 years 2 months ago #7353 by Freen
Replied by Freen on topic How to Use Numcol function
Thanks Bert,

Essentially I am trying to add up bonus participation points for a warm-up routine kids do at the beginning of most classes. As it is not every class, I would be adding columns as I go instead of having a set number of columns in advance. Now this is pretty easy except I would prefer to not have to give a code for every student but be able to leave some spaces blank but still have that space count towards the number of total warmups. So I need to count the number of columns (preferably in a category folder) so I can use that number to divide to get a percentage (ratio of times they got the bonus out of the number of opportunities). But I can't figure out how to leave a cell blank but still have it counted towards a total.

Hope that makes sense.

Thanks!

More
6 years 2 months ago #7360 by bert