Help setting up for my class situation

• Beth Jahn
10 years 7 months ago #3534 by Beth Jahn
Help setting up for my class situation was created by Beth Jahn
I think this app is going to be life changing for me if I can figure out how to make it do what I'm hoping it will do. I can tell that it has real potential. I suspect what I want to do is easier than I'm making it, but I'm a bit confused.

Here's my situation: I'm an elementary music teacher. I give each kid 5 points for each class period for participation. If they show up and do their best, they get the five points. I make deductions for things like not having their recorder, excessive talking, disrespectful behavior, etc. I want to be able to use the seating chart and add icons to the students for that various infractions for that class. Even better would be if it would automatically deduct one point in the spreadsheet part for each infraction for that day. Will I be able to make it do that? Oh, and kids who are absent don,t get the five points, but it doesn't count against them either. Clear as mud?

I tried to create an account for this forum, but I haven't received the confirmation email. I checked my spam folder and quarantined messages. :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 7 months ago #3535 by bert
Replied by bert on topic Help setting up for my class situation
Hi Beth,
The initial setup involves two steps, and once they are configured, the day to day will be a breeze.

I'll mention here the steps, and I'll explain them in detail in the next post.

You'll be able to do this with the current 2.5 version, no need for the update I mentioned in my earlier PM.

- The first step involves creating a grade type with your 5 points condition and in which you assign a value for each icon. You may want all icons to equal 1.0 points , but you can set any value to each icon. This is done from the main screen Grade types option.